News & Results

January 2019


The IC Australia cocktail party took place on site at the Australian Open in the Yarra View Room as a member get together, to welcome new members and to launch our initiative to assist former players, Beyond the Tour (BTT).


It was a most enjoyable evening, attended by nearly 90 of Australia’s former players and general tennis community, including John Newcombe, Evonne Cawley, Frank Sedgman, Scott Draper, Janet Young, and our President Geoff Masters.


Also present were representatives from the WTA, ATP and joint hosts of the event, Tennis Australia (TA).


TA attendees included CEO Craig Tiley, Chief Tennis Officer Matt Dwyer and one of the excellent lineup of speakers on the night, Head of Performance, Wally Masur.


IC Vice President Kerryn Pratt was the MC, Geoff Masters officially launched the Beyond the Tour program, Newk gave his personal tips, Evonne shared her experience of finding identity after professional tennis, and Renee Beck delivered an emotional and powerful message endorsing the IC direction.


See these two links for further details and examples of the media coverage:






Renee’s speech was undoubtedly a highlight, but there was so much more emotion and a great vibe of common experience in the room on the night.


25 years on from reaching a third round at the AO, Jane Taylor spoke with touching honesty about her journey, and many of the new inductees gave insights into their lives after tennis. It was left to Scott Draper to sum things up brilliantly, inspiring our tennis family to support each other and connect with our former player community.


The IC aims to support those retiring, as they transition to life after the pro tour, by offering firstly a connection to an ongoing tennis family, then as required, assistance in areas including mentoring, education, job seeking, networking, health and wellbeing. 


7 new members were inducted under the Beyond the Tour initiative, which offers a year of complimentary membership to recently retired players:


Isabella Holland

Ashling Sumner

Adam Hubble

Stephanie Bengson

Greg Jones

Casey Dellacqua

Sally Peers


We welcome them, and our other new members Kane Dewhurst, Jane Taylor, John Fitzgerald and Nicole Keneally.


More information to come soon in this space!



Next Article IC Australia Sydney Beyond the Tour event May 26 2019