Tennis Websites

Welcome to the Official Website of the IC of Australia

The International Tennis Club of Australia - the IC - is Australia’s player alumni.

Our Club was created in 1951 to preserve friendships and promote goodwill between players and countries, upholding values of sportsmanship and fair play, with Australia’s legendary champions Adrian Quist and Frank Sedgman two of the driving forces. 

Today, the IC upholds those same values, bringing current and former players together, organising events in Australia and internationally with our 40 worldwide counterparts, keeping the tennis family connected, providing tennis, social opportunities and giving back to the game. 

The IC’s purpose is to enrich the lives of former tennis players.

Beyond the Tour is an initiative of the IC Australia, assisting retiring and retired players transition to life after the tennis tour, with advice, practical support, networking and a helping hand. 

We also encourage the current player group to think about what life might look like Beyond the Tour.

If you’re a current or former pro player, we hope to see you soon as a Member of the IC, our tennis family.

News & Upcoming Events

IC Council News

September 2023
IC of Germany win the inaugural Gottfried von Cramm Trophy

IC of Germany win the inaugural Gottfried von Cramm Trophy

The inaugural Gottfried von Cramm Trophy has now concluded, marking a significant moment in our IC history.

Whilst the preparations leading up to the event had posed some challenges, the tournament itself turned out to be nothing short of fantastic.

A total of seven International Clubs (ICs) participated in the mixed event for players aged 28-44, including Great Britain, the United States, Spain, the Czech Republic, Luxembourg, Switzerland, and Germany.

Due to inclement weather, the quarter-finals on Friday had to be played indoors. Fortunately, Saturday and Sunday graced the tournament with sunny skies. The teams from the IC of Spain (featuring the Spanish 40+ champion Antonio Alcaraz) and IC Germany (boasting Anna-Lena Herzgeroth, former Groenefeld and Wimbledon Mixed winner, and Benny Becker, a former ATP Top 30 player) were seeded as the top two teams. The teams from Great Britain and the USA (including Mallory Burdette, a former WTA No. 60 player) were seeded third and fourth.

As anticipated, the quarter-final results aligned with these seedings. In the semi-finals, Team Spain defeated Team USA with a score of 2-1, while Team Germany emerged victorious over Team GB with a score of 2-1.

In the final, IC Germany triumphed over IC USA with a score of 2-0. The third-place match saw IC GB securing a 2-1 win over IC USA. Luxembourg's team secured fifth place after defeating Switzerland.

The hospitality provided by the Frankfurter Tennis Club Palmengarten was exceptional, as were the supporting programme activities. A cocktail reception hosted by Radio Frankfurt on the rooftop of a skyscraper's 27th floor was followed by a players' party featuring a professional DJ at a former juice factory. The atmosphere was electric, and there was a strong call for the next Gottfried von Cramm Trophy to include a repeat of these festivities, which clearly resonated with everyone in attendance.

Ben Rogers, the IC of GB Team Captain, commented: “It was mentioned at the IC Dinner that Gottfried von Cramm was most celebrated for combining tennis excellence with a gentleman’s approach. I think that he, and indeed the founder of the IC movement, Wallis Myers, would be immensely proud of the tournament, which showcased talent, built bonds of friendship, and displayed the utmost in court etiquette and fairness.”

Previous Article AGM 2023
Please login or register to post comments.